Board of Governors

The primary responsibilities of the Saddleback College Foundation Board of Governors are:

  • To provide personal/corporate financial support and ensure fundraising goals are developed, implemented and achieved to provide strategic direction and fundraising plans for the Foundation
  • To establish policies for administering the affairs of the Foundation
  • To adopt and monitor the annual operational budget and financial plan
  • To serve as an ambassador in the community for the college's Foundation

Officers/Executive Committee


Jim Leach
Jim Leach
Director, External Affairs
Santa Margarita
Water District

1st Vice President
Gary Capata

Gary Capata, CPA
Capata & Co. CPA's

2nd Vice President

Mike Hamilton, Partner
Ernst & Young (Ret.)




Michelle R. Brough, ESQ.
Brandes Investment
Partners, L.P.

John Heffernan

John Heffernan
Director, External Affairs
AT&T Services, Inc.

Past President
Donna Varner

Donna Varner
Perception Public Relations

College President
Dr. Tod A. Burnett

Dr. Tod A. Burnett
Saddleback College


Board of Governors

Joseph R. Brown, Jr.
Midland Management


Anthony Ferry
VP Marketing/Partner
Neudesic, Inc.
Dr. Michael Foudy
Foudy Chiropractic
Joyce Van Schaack
Member, Board of Directors
Christopher Columbus
Fellowships Foundation
Christopher Harrington
Toshiba America
Information Systems, Inc.
Dr. Diana McCullough
Irvine Valley College
Penny Spellens
Mercedes Benz
of Laguna Niguel
Col. Joseph D. Snyder, USMC
Snyder Consultants


College Representatives


ASG College
Student Body Representative
Bahman Sabahil
President, ASG
College Classified
Staff Representative
Barbara Sendaba
Saddleback College
Faculty Representative
Blake Stephens
Saddleback College
District Board of Trustees Representative
Nancy Padberg


Advisory Council

Patricia C. Bates
OC Supervisor 5th District
John Bates Associates
John Ben
Acqua Ben
Judy Bethe, RN, MSN
Hoag Hospital, Retiree
Duane Cave
External Relations Manager
San Diego Gas & Electric
John Gibson
United Intelligence Corporation
Matthew Gunderson
Infiniti of Mission Viejo
Audi Mission Viejo
Trish Kelley
Council Member
City of Mission Viejo
Barry McCarthy
Business Consultant
Brian S. Probolsky
Moulton Niguel Water District
Charlie Ware
Governmental Relations
Rancho Mission Viejo


Board Documentation